Easter

It’s been awhile since I’ve written anything here. Not that there hasn’t been anything to write about; life is just busy these day. I suppose Easter is as good a time as any to start anew.

This week, I’ve been reminded of the importance of downtime.

Normally, I’m a pretty big advocate of having a relaxed schedule and lots of healthy time to breathe. I don’t always succeed at it as well as I’d like, but I certainly understand the importance of it.

I’ve realized, however, that it is key for ministry as well. Youth workers like myself can spend lots and lots of time planning lessons, discussions, events, trips, and more, exerting lots of work just to foster a time and place for those special, life-changing conversations that we’re blessed enough to have every now and then. This all has it’s place -what sort of ministers would we be if we weren’t looking for opportuniies to minister?

But equally important, if not more so, is just being available and having the free time to be present in people’s lives. The most critical events usually aren’t planned. Having good lessons and discussions is all fine and good, but the greatest opportunities for real impact come from giving yourself the space to stop working and walk around the neighborhood to chat with whoever is out; to visit with a student who just left home after a fight; to spend six hours in the hospital with a teen who needed someone present until his mother could be found.

In my head, it seems common-sense to me that I’d drop everything when a crisis comes up; but I also realize how easy it would be for me to say, “I’m busy, but I’ll check in when I’m done”.

Christ’s most life-changing moments weren’t through his big semons – those did little for people in real need. It was when he stopped in the middle of his journeys and ministry to address people in their crises and troubles that people really understood how much he cared.

~ by Peter on April 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
