Tendency Towards Perfection

VBS is over.  I can sleep again!

For the past week, I’ve been busily working on a video for VBS’s closing “ceremony”.  It’s been fun, although I ran into a problem… I have high standards for anything image-related, but I’ve never worked with video before.  That means hours just playing with and trying to figure out my Mac’s basic video editing software, let alone trying to get the actual video right.

I finally got the video how I liked it, but was having some real problems arranging the sound.  Needless to say, I didn’t get the video presentable until around 6:10 this evening… with the program starting at 6, of course.  For my first attempt, I thought it turned out pretty good.  There were some things I wish I’d had time to do, and I noticed some mistakes in the video that bothered me, but it was passable.

After the program, I was wiped out. But, being the perfectionist that I often forget I am, what’s the first thing I wanted to do when I got home?  Fix the video.

And so I did.

(note: I’m not posting the video on here because I don’t have permission from all the kids, but if you want to see it, let me know.  Otherwise, just imagine a bunch of kids running around, having fun, and being goofy, and you get the idea.)

~ by Peter on July 12, 2008.

One Response to “Tendency Towards Perfection”

  1. I’m glad VBS went well (I’m assuming). I’m a bit OCD myself regarding anything for which I’m responsible. I spent 10 years as a youth pastor before “trading my night job for a day job.” Keep caring for kids.
    donstuff.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
