Long time, no speak (or read)

I’m tired.  Things have been crazy this past month or so – increased ministry with the newer neighborhood youth, planning a bunch of stuff for the summer, going on retreats, shooting and editing multiple weddings, new networking with other youth workers, and still trying to keep up with the original 3 groups of kids and youth I started with.

For awhile, I felt really hectic trying to get everything done.  Now, I’m less worried about it coming together.  I’m just tired.

There are a zillion things I could say or write about from the past month.  Maybe a lot of them will come out eventually.  I’ll pick things as they come…

A week and a half ago, a couple of adults in my church, my wife, and I invited some of the Wednesday night potluck kids to have dinner at our house.  It was one of the best moves we’ve made in building our relationships with them.  Just earlier that week, we’d had some encouraging interactions with them on the street, but inviting them into our home was a big step.

Two of the three jr. high guys we invited were able to come, and were even excited when we invited them to come help prepare dinner.  One of them, who is one of our oldest Wednesday “regulars”, is a pretty decent cook.  We made a nice meal with pasta, cheesy bread, and cookies for dessert.  More importantly, though, was how open they were interact with us, have fun, joke around, and just share a small bit of life together.  Honestly, the difference from what we were used to was a little astonishing.

Inviting them into our home and focusing on just a couple of them makes a huge difference.  This is something I already knew, but it’s still very exciting to see it play out!  I don’t expect this to be the last time it happens, either.

There is another aspect of this that I find very uplifting, as well.  One of the greatest lessons I learned from InnerCHANGE was the importance of doing ministry as a team.  One of my greatest fears in doing neighborhood ministry in Rogers Park was that I might have to try and do it alone.  I can’t explain how incredible of a blessing it is that a group of people have formed around our church’s desire to love these kids.  It may not be a “team”, per se, but they are people I know I can walk with in this, and that’s worth a lot.  Praise God who looks after His people.

I’m tired.  But it’s because there’s so many good, exciting things happening, I’m not sure I can keep up.

~ by Peter on May 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
