Tired Brain

Lesson planning wears me out.

I knew up front that planning lessons and discussions for youth group would be the toughest part for me, and really it is.

All week, I toss these thoughts around in my head, write stuff out, talk things out with my wife, and come up with these really important things that I want to make sure my group knows.

When it comes to taking all those thoughts and translating them into a lesson that will both make sense to the kids, yet still make them think… I just go blank.  Or I write things that, upon looking back at them, I can’t help but recognize… “This sucks.  Try again.”

Point is, I should not have to be finishing lesson stuff within an hour of youth group.  That’s what it’s been taking me, but that is NOT a practice I want to continue.  Ah, practice.  The more I do it, the easier it’ll come.  I hope.

That said, tonight actually went really well, I’m getting better at talking and discussing with the group, and lesson went off great, I think.  I’m glad I’m backed up by some amazing volunteer leaders.  And this stuff about being and living as God’s beloved is really sticking with some of the youth, which is great… it really is central to everything I hope will come in the next year or so.

In other news, tomorrow I’m hanging out with the youth coordinator lady for ONE, which I mentioned last week.  I’m looking forward to seeing how I can get better involved with the youth in the neighborhood, and not just be restricted within the walls of my church’s building.  You’ll hear more about how it goes later.

But for now, my brain is exhausted after spending so much of today thinking about youth group stuff.  So, to bed I go.

~ by Peter on December 9, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
